National Disability Insurance Scheme

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is an independent constitutional agency in Australia. The agency follows a role of implementation to support Australian citizens going through disabilities. The goal of NDIS is to deliver a better life to hundreds of thousands Australians with a momentous and permanent disabilities.

This includes connections to doctors, community groups, sporting clubs, support groups, libraries and schools, as well as providing information about what support is provided by each state and territory government.

The NDIS now supports over 500,000 Australians with disability to access the services and supports they need.


Permanent & Significant Disability Holders

A permanent disability holder can be a human with a disability that is likely to be lifelong. A significant disability that has made an extensive impact on human abilities of completing routine/day to day activities.


Supports & Services

Help, Assistance or products that helps human in surviving in their day to day life to participate in the community activities and reach their goals.


Early Intervention

Adding support to the society or a child or an adult at the earliest with all possible solutions to reduce the impact of disabilities and develop a skill set for independence.

Where is the NDIS available?

The Scheme is being rolled out gradually across the country. All eligible people with disability in Australia are expected to have access to the NDIS by 2019.

In South Australia, there are expected to be around 32,000 NDIS participants, up from approximately 17,000 people with disability currently receiving funded supports.

The NDIS is currently available to eligible children aged 0 to 17 years across South Australia. From 1 July 2017, adults aged 18 to 64 years old began to enter the NDIS based on where they live. The NDIS commenced in the Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Playford, Salisbury and Port Adelaide Enfield (East) in the Northern Adelaide region, along with the Barossa, Light, and Lower North region in July 2017. This will be followed by the Tea Tree Gully LGA and the Limestone Coast and Murray, Mallee regions from 1 October 2017.

Note: More information about the rollout of the NDIS in South Australia and can be found on the NDIS website.